En vacker kväll, an album review

So here it is, the legacy after this summer’s very successful tour. It’s short, but Per has a reasonable explanation as of why.

The En vacker kväll album is fully recorded August 26 in Borgå, Finland. “The band is so very tight at the end of a tour” says Per to TDR. 13 songs, or rather 11 made the cut. Measly you may think, but the reason for the mere 44 minutes is that the album was to be released exclusively on vinyl. Unfortunately the processing time was so long they changed their minds. CD it is, and CD only. This album won’t be released digitally or streaming, at least not now. Per’s thoughts are that you buy the book and the album together as a tour memento. Speaking of the book, it hasn’t arrived yet, so the review of that will be delayed.

To the album:

Like I said, 11 songs made it (and two intros that don’t really count). All the faster tracks are gone, leaving a rather melancholy album, where you still can hear the happiness of the band, of Per and of the audience. I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss them, but I understand why they are missing. “We don’t need more live versions of ‘Sommartider’ or ‘Gå & fiska!’. They are more of a live experience” Per says. The sound is absolutely perfect, kudos to Chris Von D. The best song is definitely “Honung och guld”, the forgotten Gyllene Tider ballad from the album Puls in 1982. (One of Per’s better lyrics likely.) A beautiful rendition with Good Harvest on backup vocals. There is a version with Lasse Winnerbäck on backup, but that didn’t make it.

Track list

1 På promenad genom stan
2 Vilket håll du än går
3 Segla på ett moln
4 Första pris
5 Min plats
6 It Must Have Been Love
7 Honung och guld
8 Här kommer alla känslorna (på en och samma gång)
9 Flickan i en Cole Porter-sång
10 Queen of Rain
11 Varmt igen
12 Tycker om när du tar på mej
13 Småstadsprat

All in all a nice album to listen to when the fire is crackling. 3/5

  ★ The author:

  ★ Publishing date:

December 8th, 2017

Internal reference code for TDR's Good Reporters: [tdr 1019236]

This article was posted here on TDR in these categories:

TDR:Exclusive, TDR:Live, TDR:Misc, TDR:Per Gessle, TDR:Releases.

  ★ Read more about...

  • `