18 songs recorded, video will be shot in August

The Official Fan Club has finally updated their news page after 3 months. They have some news bits from the coming Roxette Review (fanclub’s magazine).

In the end of May, when fanclub’s workers interviewed Marie and Per in Sweden, Roxette had recorded 15 songs for the new album (Marie sings 11 of them). In June they recorded 3 more. However, on the final album there will be only 12 or 13 songs because they think “Crash! Boom! Bang!” was too long. (I don’t think so, but at least we’ll get some nice single B-sides…) There is going to be as many up-tempo tracks as ballads. (I wonder how they’re going to do that if there’s 13 songs on the album, heh.)

The video for the first single will be shot in August. The FC doesn’t tell any release dates yet.

When the album is out, the band will make a small promotional tour in the major European cities. No world tour is mentioned… The news about the new band were maybe a bit extravagant: Marie and Per say Jonas Isacsson and Micke “Nord” Andersson will be on the new album, as well as Christer Johansson and many others. The band and their families had great time in Spain where they were recording the album.

Official Roxette Fan Club writes on their news page:

The new album will sound fresher and more up-to-date but still will be the ‘old’ Roxette-style we’re used to. So it’s definitely NOT going to be a “dance-album” as the gossip said. (Although it will be “dance-able”)

The fanclub also tells that Marie is trying to get a driver’s license again (she hasn’t got one). Per and Marie partied in Spain with Ulf from another Swedish mega band, Ace of Base.

Official Roxette Fan Club | Discuss about the new album at SmallTalk!


This article was written for an earlier version of The Daily Roxette.
Technical errors may occur.

  ★ The author:

  ★ Publishing date:

July 14th, 1998

Internal reference code for TDR's Good Reporters: [tdr 110202]

This article was posted here on TDR in these categories:

Archive, News, vintage.

  • `